Connect with us


The Ballon d’Or shortlist

Ballon d´or award
Who will win Ballon d´or this season?

The shortlisted players for the prestigious award have been named and it has a lot interesting names. We also have the usual suspects and the newbies. Liverpool FC dominates with the highest nomination on the list with 7 players. They include the front three of Sadio Mane, Roberto Firmino , Mohammed Salah, the European player of the year Virgil van dijk, Georginio Wijnaldum, Alisson Becker and Trent Alexander Arnold. Manchester city follows closely with 5 players which include Sergio Aguero, Raheem Sterling, Bernado Silva, Kevin de Bruyne, Riyad Mahrez. Totthenham Hotspurs is represented by Hugo Lloris amd Son Heung-min. Their north London rivals are represented by Pierre Emerick Aubameyang.

World footballer of the year

The Ballon d’Or is an award organized by France football magazine since 1956. It was merged with FIFA’s world footballer of the year award from 2010 to 2015. FIFA has since ended its association with the emergence of the best fifa player awards which was won this year by Barcelona’s Lionel Messi. The Ballon d’Or is slated to take place on December 2nd in Paris. Before that the 30 shortlisted players will be wittled down to a final three.

In recent times the award has been dominated by Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi for close to a decade. Interestingly the two have won the award 10 times among themselves. This underscores how the beautiful game of football has been dominated by these two. Real Madrid’s Luka Modric broke that dominance last year by being the only player outside the Ronaldo – Messi monopoly to win the coveted prize since Kaka won it in2007. These two individuals have made regular appearance on the big stage when it comes to the Ballon d’Or. Unfortunately Luka Modric did not make the nomination this year.

Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk has been penciled as a favorite for the award. He was imperious last season and also helped his team to win the uefa champions league against spurs in June and uefa supercup against Chelsea earlier on this season but fell short on winning the uefa nations cup against Portugal. He will obviously be facing stiff competition from Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi. Cristiano Ronaldo played a key role in Juventus winning their eight consecutive scudetto but missed out on the trophy the club has been eyeing for a long time, the champions league. He also went on to win the newly introduced uefa nations cup. Lionel Messi also won the La liga and the copa Del rey but had a disaster of a season in the champions league and at the national level with Argentina. They fell short on winning the copa America. The method of determining the winner is through voting which is done by international journalists, national team coaches and captains.

Best young players of the year

Competing for the best young player or Kopa trophy are vinicius Junior of Real Madrid, Joao Felix of Atletico Madrid, Samu Chukwueze of Villarreal, Jadon Sancho of Borussia Dortmund, Moise Kean of Everton, Matteo Guendouzi of Arsenal, Matthjis de Ligt of Juventus, Andriy Lunin of Valladolid, Kai Havertz of Bayern Leverkusen and Kang –In Lee of Valencia. This trophy is awarded to the best performing young player under 21.

The Yashin trophy is keenly competed by Jan Oblak of Atletico Madrid, Marc – Andre ter Stegen of Barcelona, Ederson of Manchester city, Kepa Arrizabalaga of Chelsea , Hugo Lloris of spurs, Manuel Neuer of Bayern Munich, Juventus’ Wojciech Szcezesny, Ajax’s Andre Onana and Alisson Becker of Liverpool.

The full list of nominees

  • Sadio Mane – Liverpool
  • Roberto Firmino – Liverpool
  • Mohammed Salah – Liverpool
  • Virgil van dijk – Liverpool
  • Georginio Wijnaldum – Liverpool
  • Alisson Becker – Liverpool
  • Trent Alexander Arnold – Liverpool
  • Sergio Aguero – Manchester city
  • Raheem Sterling – Manchester city
  • Bernado Silva – Manchester city
  • Kevin de Bruyne – Manchester city
  • Riyad Mahrez – Manchester city
  • Hugo Lloris – Totthenham Hotspurs
  • Son Heung –min – Totthenham Hotspurs
  • Pierre Emerick Aubameyang – Arsenal
  • Lionel Messi – Barcelona
  • Frenki de Jong – Barcelona
  • Marc – Andre ter Stegen – Barcelona
  • Karim Benzema – Real Madrid
  • Eden Hazard – Real Madrid
  • Kylian Mbappe – Paris st. Germain
  • Marquinhos – Paris st. Germain
  • Robert Lewandowski – Bayern Munich
  • Matthjis de Ligt – Juventus
  • Cristiano Ronaldo – Juventus
  • Dusan Tadic – Ajax
  • Donny van Beek – Ajax
  • Kalidou Koulibaly – Napoli
  • Antoine Greizmann – Barcelona
  • Joao Felix – Atletico Madrid


Must See

    More in Soccer